The Eastern Commonwealth negotiates to form a government of all groups

The Eastern Commonwealth negotiates to form a government of all groups

The political formations with representation in the Commonwealth of Municipalities of the Axarquia will last until the last moment to try to form a government in which all the groups participate. At least, this was confirmed yesterday by the PSOE, which will hold the presidency of the entity, after obtaining the support of IU.

Although the full constitution of the board of the joint body is scheduled for this afternoon at 5.30 pm, yesterday the five groups that have obtained representation (PSOE, with 17; PP, with 13; IU and PMP, with four each , and GIPMTM, with two) continued trying to reach a consensus agreement with the purpose of forming a government as stable as possible, with a consensus program for the next four years.

Although PSOE and IU make up the absolute majority of the plenary session with 21 of the 40 members that make up the board of the entity, both parties are willing to count on all the forces because they consider that the decisions taken on the future of The region must be taken by the five parties. This was also considered by the Deputy Secretary of Municipal Policy of the PP, Natacha Rivas, who is negotiating by this political force.

A similar situation occurred four years ago, although the PP finally left the government because it was against the rising price of water.

The PSOE, as a group with the largest number of members in the Eastern Commonwealth, today goes to the full constitution of the entity with the proposal to elect José Juan Jiménez as president of the organization, socialist mayor of La Viñuela and president of the Center for Rural Development de la Axarquía (CEDER), replacing Gregorio Campos in office.

Book your transfer now

Visit Nerja Caves

Book your transfer now
Today's weather in Nerja

Clear sky

26ºC / 78.8ºF

  • Max: 28ºC / 82.4ºF
  • Min: 21ºC / 69.8ºF
  • Chance of rain: 0%